Internet Governance Civil Society Coordination Group (CSCG)

Civil Society Representatives on IGF Multistakeholder Advisory Group (MAG) 2015

Saturday, October 11, 2014 8:48 AM

The Internet Governance Civil Society Co ordination Group (CSCG) is pleased to be able to inform you of our recommendations as regards civil society representation on MAG 2015.

As you know, CSCG is a “coalition of coalitions” of the major civil society groups involved in the internet governance arena and associated areas.(see details below). Our role in working together is to ensure a co-ordinated civil society response and conduit when it comes to making civil society appointments to outside bodies.

Nominations for 2015 MAG civil society representatives

After each of our coalition members published a Call for Nominations within their coalition, each member shortlisted the names from their individual coalition (if necessary) which would be further considered for endorsement. The CSCG Nominating Committee considered 29 names short-listed for final discussion, with the following criteria.

1. Past record of active engagement as part of civil society groups working on internet governance issues, acting or speaking out assertively on behalf of public interest concerns.

2 Willingness and commitment to consult with and report back to CS networks (including beyond those focused on internet governance where appropriate) on MAG discussions.

3. Previous attendee at IGF at a global or regional level.

4. Willing, available and able to participate effectively and constructively in the MAG deliberations.

In considering names, our nominating committee firstly considered the advice from the Secretariat that 10 people considered to be civil society representatives were ending their terms this year – an unusually high number on an annual basis. Accordingly, we have selected 10 names for new members as outlined below.

We recommend the following 10 names as the new representatives for civil society (in alphabetical order). Each will need to submit a full application with further details pertaining to their suitability as MAG members.

  • Sunil Abraham (India)
  • Renata Avila (Guatemala)
  • Oh Byoungil (South Korea)
  • John Dada (Nigeria)
  • Avri Doria (USA)
  • Stuart Hamilton (United Kingdom)
  • Lea Kaspar (Croatia)
  • Jak SM Kee (Malaysia)
  • Ephraim Percy Kenyanito (Kenya)
  • Virginia Paque (Venezuela)

We also considered the remaining representatives whose three year terms have not expired, and we conclude that the only civil society person whose term has not expired is Fatima Cambronero (Argentina), We consider Fatima to be an excellent representative, and have no hesitation in supporting the continuation of her term of engagement. Accordingly, we also endorse the continued involvement of Fatima Cambronero (Argentina) as the only remaining civil society representative carried forward to 2015 MAG. In doing so we note that there are no other continuing members of MAG who are civil society representatives.

In addition to the above names, the CSCG has considered a wide range of very talented civil society representatives it was not able to include in its recommendations. We are very thankful for all the applicants, despite their making our job much harder, and will advise the Secretariat that, should IGF require names of suitable and accomplished additional representatives in providing overall regional balance, we would be very pleased to provide additional names in confidence of further civil society people who could make an outstanding contribution to the 2015 MAG.

We will be in contact with the selected CS representatives shortly to discuss some brief biographical details for our letter to the IGF Secretariat, and other details of their nominations. In the mean time, we thank everyone for their participation and co-operation in this exercise and believe that this effort has yielded some outstanding candidates to represent civil society.


2015 CSCG MAG Nominating Committee

  • Norbert Bollow, Just Net Coalition representative
  • Mawaki Chango, Internet Governance Caucus representative
  • Robin Gross, Non Commercial Stakeholders Group representative
  • Jeremy Malcolm, Best Bits Coalition representative
  • Chat Garcia Ramilo, Association for Progressive Communications representative
  • Ian Peter, Independent Chair
Note: Virginia Paque (Diplo Foundation) withdrew from Nominating Committee discussions before nominations were opened and criteria developed, as she intended to stand as a candidate. Mandeep Tiwana (Civicus) also did not participate in the Nominating Committee.


Member Organisations of Internet Governance Civil Society Co ordination Group – brief descriptions

· Association for Progressive Communications, an international membership-based network founded in 1990 who work together in using ICTs to empower and support others to build strategic communities and promote easy and affordable access to a free and open internet.

· Best Bits, a network of civil society organisations from across the world, who come together to share and collaborate on individual and joint initiatives in support of human rights and other broadly shared civil society interests in Internet governance.

· Civicus, a global civil society alliance with over 1000 members in 120 countries

· Diplo Foundation, which has a focus on assisting participants from small and developing states to build the capacity to engage effectively in Internet Governance and diplomacy. Since 2003, Diplo’s Internet Governance Capacity Building Programme (IGCBP) has involved over 1500 professionals and activists from 163 states.

· Internet Governance Caucus, an organisation with over 200 organisational and individual members founded in 2004 to specifically address emerging internet governance issues.

· Just Net Coalition, formed in 2014, a global coalition with specific interests in democracy, human rights and social justice.

· Non-Commercial Stakeholders Group, (NCSG) an organization of more than 400 non-commercial organizations and individuals who develop Internet policy through participation in ICANN's policy development process. NCSG promotes noncommercial interests in the formulation of ICANN policy including human rights, academic, development, educational, and cultural interests.