Internet Governance Civil Society Coordination Group (CSCG)

Selections for /1net Steering Committee

Dec 12, 2012

I am pleased to announce the results of the civil society coordination group process to provide representatives on the 1net steering committee.

Our representatives will be

Joana Varon
Rafik Dammak
Anriette Esterhuysen
Vladimir Radunovik
Anja Kovacs

With Marilia Maciel to fill any vacancy should any of the others find it impossible to continue.


The selection committee was formed from representatives of the networks of NCSG (Robin Gross), APC (Chat Garcia Ramilo), Diplo (Virginia Paque), and Best Bits (Jeremy Malcolm). Ian Peter was an independent facilitator. Internet Governance Caucus (IGC) was involved with the process and the call for nominations, but when its representative and sole co ordinator at this stage (Salanieta Tamanikaiwaimaro) withdrew at a late stage it was not possible to provide a replacement in the short time frame. Hopefully these difficulties within IGC will be resolved for future efforts (with IGC co ordinator elections due now). However, with 3 ex-coordinators of IGC involved with the selection process we believe its interests were fully represented.

Calls from nominations were invited on the mailing lists of Diplo, Best Bits, IGC, NCSG and other civil society networks. Diplo community undertook a process of narrowing its large pool of nominations to two names before consideration by other selection committee members, and the result of the various calls from various networks was that 13 names were considered by the committee. The final names were arrived at by consensus of all the representatives involved.

All of these representatives were chosen for their capacity to represent civil society as a whole, not just their individual organisational affiliations. We believe these representatives give a good cross section of the various interests of civil society in internet governance issues.

Ian Peter
Independent Facilitator
for Civil Society Coordination Group